Film & Movies · In the shoes of a Graduate · Journalism · Life · Uncategorized

Who came up with New year’s Resolutions?

Ladies, gentlemen and my big eyed green creatures; 2015 is coming to an end in exactly three weeks, two day, one hour and forty five minutes from now (or rather from when I wrote this exact line). This only means we are closer to ringing in a new year (my prayers go out to those who have lost loved ones this year). If you are anything close to human, this is the time we look back and check off our new year’s resolutions; that is if you made any in the beginning of the year. I have never been one to make new year’s resolutions. I find them to be unrealistic promises we make to ourselves as a way of making our subconscious feel better; somewhat a way of taking back control over the lives we claim as our own. As I said earlier I usually never make these empty promises as I have never liked disappointment, however I caved this year. After a wave of unexpected emotions, I sat down on boxing day and came up with a list. Nothing unrealistic, I promised myself my resolutions would be simple and attainable; so I choose to live a healthier lifestyle this 2015;

  • To work out at least 5 times a week.
  • Drink more water (and less wine).
  • Eat clean.
  • Give my skin and my natural hair a little more (T)ender(L)ove&(C)are.
  • and publish at least one of my books I have been working on over the years.

Simple, right? Well to be completely transparent, I have not done any of those things. Not that these resolutions are hard to achieve, it’s that life happened. These resolutions were meant to give me perspective, a mind map into what was to be my 2015 but truthfully what usually happens is we forget. As soon as the new year’s celebrations and texts stop coming in, we find ourselves back into normal day to day. This usually happens after January or (if you are persistent enough) after the first calendar event; which happens to be Valentine’s day. New Year’s resolutions are meant to give people a focus point for that year. A new year, usually gives one a clean slate; to do whatever it is that you want to do or improve on where ever it is you failed. Resolutions are a good starting point and encourage one to have vision, a plan but why is it most people never fall through with these resolutions? I know…. because LIFE HAPPENS.

While writing my new year’s resolution list, I was well aware that the big percentage of people make unrealistic resolutions  that do not get resolved, so I thought mine would be simple; I could achieve them. However, I did not leave room for the possibility that this could be one of the toughest years of my adult life. Writing from a personal point of view, if anyone was to ask me how this year has been, I would refer them to the first verse of  the FRIENDS theme song,

So no one told you life was gonna be this way
Your jobs a joke, you’re broke, your love life’s D.O.A
It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear
When it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

anigif_enhanced-23209-1426594536-2

Quite frankly, The Rembrandts did a pretty good job of foreseeing this year for me in just that one verse. They knew for sure that the shit list I made as my new year’s resolution would be used as bog roll by your royal highness ‘Life’. She liked her bog roll full of cliché new year resolutions from tiny humans who dare to step up to her and try to take back control of their lives. I kid you not, if Life was a human being, she would probably wear us as her earrings, picking a choosing which day would be our day, a good day and which day we would be a lost pair of earring under her bed, a bad day. This year I seemed to have been lost somewhere under her (Life)  bed because it has been a roller coaster. Never the less I would not have had things happen any other way as I have evolved, grown into a better earthling. I have shade a few leaves and weathered a few storms but I believe I am exactly  where I am meant to be in life. This has been a defining year for me as a woman; yes I have stayed in certain situations longer than I should have but what matters is that once I realised this, I took one step away from this situation and followed that step with another. And so my earthlings, all one has to do is take the first step, forget the self made manual you came up with in the beginning of the year and slapped “new year’s resolutions” on top of it; all you need is to take it one step at a time and make the rules up as you go.

Leave a Reply

