Art · Culture · In the shoes of a Graduate · Journalism · Photography

Faces of African Village.

During the end of the summer, I got a chance to travel back home for my lovely brother’s wedding which on a side note was AMAZING! However, that is not what I came on here to talk about. While I was home I got a chance to visit the African crafts and artifacts center called African village. For those who have not come across this artistic part of the city, it is located in the heart of Kampala along Nakasero Road. Once your in the gates, you will set your eyes on colorful crafts and beaded pieces; that is to say necklaces, earrings,  African crafted center pieces and ornaments, crafted sandals etc.  And the best part of most if not all of these products is they are 99 percent made out of recycled items and biodegradable material.

Among this being one of the most artistic center of the city, it also has amazing people selling these products who are approachable, friendly and reasonable with prices. Below are some of the friendly humans I met while there; these are a few of the faces of African Village, Kampala.

• Meet Andrew •
• Meet Andrew • A recent Graduate in-between jobs, working to help pay rent for his mother. He wants be be a big business man within the next two years.
• Meet Barbara and Brenda • The Identical twins that do everything together; even running business.
• Meet Barbara and Brenda • The Identical twins that do everything together; even running a business.
• Meet Anita • Queen of beads and craft necklaces. This job puts her kids through school.
• Meet Anita • Queen of beads and craft necklaces. This job puts her kids through school.
I don't remember her name. But she was camera shy.
I don’t remember her name. But she was camera shy.
Then there is mysel
Then there is myself. Had to get one in.

I could go on naming and describing the different characters at African crafts village but there are about  50 shops in this area plus that would leave me with little to talk about next time I go back to visit. Hereby I really recommend those of you that have not visited this little African village in Uganda to do so when in Uganda or to put it on your “to visit list” if planning on traveling to Uganda. Safe Voyage my earthlings.

Leave a Reply

